Python Forum
Script does not work on Linux server - Printable Version

+- Python Forum (https://python-forum.io)
+-- Forum: Python Coding (https://python-forum.io/forum-7.html)
+--- Forum: Web Scraping & Web Development (https://python-forum.io/forum-13.html)
+--- Thread: Script does not work on Linux server (/thread-41811.html)

Script does not work on Linux server - scrapemasta - Mar-22-2024

Hello there,

First of all, I am not an expert for Python, but I rather learned it AD HOC. Namely, I have a script that scrapes name, sizes and prices for each size for products. I create excel file that the script reads, open links, gets the data, and saves it in a new excel file. Now, the issue is that the script is not able to click on a popup window (cookie) that shows up when run on server and accept the cookies - when I run it on my PC, the script works fine.

Here is the code:

import time
from selenium import webdriver
from selenium.webdriver.common.by import By
from selenium.webdriver.common.action_chains import ActionChains
from selenium.webdriver.support.ui import WebDriverWait
from selenium.webdriver.support import expected_conditions as EC
from selenium.common.exceptions import StaleElementReferenceException
from bs4 import BeautifulSoup
from xlwt import Workbook
import pandas as pd
from selenium.webdriver.chrome.options import Options

# Set up Chrome options for headless browsing
chrome_options = Options()
chrome_options.add_argument("--headless")
chrome_options.add_argument("--no-sandbox")  # Add this line if running as root user

# Initialize WebDriver
driver = webdriver.Chrome(options=chrome_options)

# Reading the file where the links of products are saved
df = pd.read_excel('OttyDuvets_Links.xlsx')

# Create a single Workbook and Worksheet
wb = Workbook()
ws = wb.add_sheet('Sheet1')

# Defining the Headers in Excel Worksheet
ws.write(0, 0, 'Name')
ws.write(0, 1, 'Size')
ws.write(0, 2, 'Price')
row = 1

# Iterate through all size options using a for loop