[Tkinter] Not sure whats wrong with this - Printable Version +- Python Forum (https://python-forum.io) +-- Forum: Python Coding (https://python-forum.io/forum-7.html) +--- Forum: GUI (https://python-forum.io/forum-10.html) +--- Thread: [Tkinter] Not sure whats wrong with this (/thread-672.html) |
Not sure whats wrong with this - DoomMagnet - Oct-27-2016 I'm a new programmer who started python last month and tkinter today. I've got a problem with my code and im not sure whats up with it. from tkinter import * selection = Tk() selection.title("Select Calculator") op2 = StringVar() def op(): op = int(op2.get()) return label1 = Label(selection,text="Select 1 for Newton's Laws of Motion Calculator") label2 = Label(selection,text="Select 2 for Momentum Calculator") label3 = Label(selection,text="Select 3 for Impulse Calculator") label1.grid(row=0,column=1,sticky=W) label2.grid(row=1,column=1,sticky=W) label3.grid(row=2,column=1,sticky=W) enter = Entry(selection,textvariable=op2) enter.grid(row=3,column=1) select = Button(selection,text="Continue",command=op) select.grid(row=3,column=2) selection.mainloop() if op == 1: print("Hi")I'd really appreciate some help and advice. RE: Not sure whats wrong with this - Yoriz - Oct-27-2016 Please give us a clue as to what the problem is.? Do you get an error -> paste the error traceback. Note that the function op returns nothing so will always default to a return vale of None. RE: Not sure whats wrong with this - DoomMagnet - Oct-27-2016 (Oct-27-2016, 04:52 PM)Yoriz Wrote: Please give us a clue as to what the problem is.? Oh, I thought if I input 1 in the gui it would come out as one. What should i do to make op = the entry? RE: Not sure whats wrong with this - Yoriz - Oct-27-2016 Actually return something from the function. def op(): return int(op2.get()) RE: Not sure whats wrong with this - DoomMagnet - Oct-27-2016 Thanks it worked! |